【居日美國人的市場考察】甚麼是esports(電競)?

【居日美國人的市場考察】甚麼是esports(電競)?
其他

大家好,我是居日美國人Cory。此我會為大家介紹我對日本和美國電競市場的一些考察。

ゲーム実況

這陣子電競非常流行

簡單來說,電競跟一般運動一樣,由大會聯盟、專業選手隊伍、贊助商所組成。專業選手經由合約聘用,每年會收到大額報酬,與傳統運動選手類似。跟傳統運動員稍有不同的是當選手勝出比賽後,可以徥到額外獎金。在2018年,從電競賺得最多報酬的國家是美國,第二是中國,第三是南韓。美國也是有最多電競選手的國家,第二是南韓,然後是中國。

電競的歷史

Cory with Twitch jumper

電子遊戲比賽在有電子遊戲開始已經存在。由在機鋪玩太空侵略者和大金剛鬥高分,到90年代未的QuakeCon比賽,在2000年後更有在電視播放的電競賽事。現今的電競比賽已是成為多個國家的主流文化的一大部分。

電競在美國

傳統運動在美國社會有很高的地位,聽到有人說電競是一項運動或你會覺得可笑,但事實上電競在美國的地位十分鞏固。身為有著最多選手人數和贏徥最多獎金的國家,有著世界首個電競專用的競技埸地,電競的知名度和對電競的意識在美國有增無減。

很多美國遊戲公司會贊助隊伍、聯盟、比賽,例如Intel和Riot Games。

電競在日本

另一方面,世界知明電子遊戲大國日本的競技類遊戲,例如拳王和任天堂明星大亂鬥很少出現在電競的舞台。這是因為日本有關賭博的法例也適用於電競,規定了遊戲比賽的獎金不能超過10萬日元。

現時日本對電競比賽的態度有所改變,開始考慮修改有關法列,電競比賽的未來一片光明。

電競在遊戲玩家心中有重大地位,甚至有人要求承認電競為正式運動。現在愈來愈多機會有世界性的電競比賽,電競亦有可能在奧運出現。

What are esports?

What are esports?
In recent years, esports is a word that’s hard to miss.

To put shortly, esports are very similar to regular sports, with leagues and teams of pro players, and their sponsors. Those pro players, in ways similar to traditional pro sports players, are employed by contract, being paid enormous amounts every year. In a way a bit different from traditional athletes, when esports teams win a tournament, a bonus is paid for winning.The country with the most player earnings for 2018 is the USA, with China and Korea coming in second and third. The USA is also at number one in terms of player numbers, with Korea in second, and China in third place.

History of esports

Competitions centered on video games have been going on since the dawn of video games, with high score competitions of Space Invaders and Donkey Kong in local arcades to QuakeCon in the late 90s and even televised competitions in the 2000s. Now, esports tournaments and competitions have become a huge part of mainstream culture in many parts of the world.

Esports in the USA

Cory with Twitch jumper

While traditional sports still hold a high place in American society, and the slightest mention of video games being a sport could get you laughed at, esports are taking a strong foothold in the USA. With the highest number of players and the most amount of prize money paid out in the US, along with touting the first stadium dedicated to esports in the world, there is an increasing awareness and popularity towards esports.

Many companies in the US are also sponsors of teams, leagues, and competitions, such as Intel and Riot Games.

Esports in Japan

On the other hand, Japan, one of the countries most known for games, and home of Street Fighter and Smash Bros. – popular esports games – has a quite small presence in the world of esports. This is because the laws meant to restrict gambling in Japan incidentally apply to esports as well, where no amount of gaming tournament prize money could exceed 100,000 yen.

But, the attitude in regards to these competitions is changing, with progress in the legal realm starting to be made, giving esports competitions a bit of a brighter future in the country.

Esports has become a huge part of the gaming community, even with people pushing to have esports recognized as an official sport, with the possibility of these competitions going even more global by possibly appearing in the Olympics in the near future.